Dodgers Team News

Dodgers’ Dave Roberts On Status Of Corey Seager’s Back Injury

The Los Angeles Dodgers have played through the entire National League Championship Series without one of their best players on the active roster, but that should hopefully change should they advance.

Corey Seager injured his back during Game 3 of the NLDS while sliding into second base and it surprised many when he was a late scratch off of the NLCS roster. He’s currently unable to play in the NLCS, but some good news arose on Wednesday about the All-Star shortstop’s health.

Leaving Seager off of this series’ roster turned out to be a great move considering the Dodgers currently have a 3-1 series-lead over Chicago. He did not travel with the team to Chicago, but Seager has clearly made some progression and it looks like Roberts sees him returning if the Dodgers are able to advance to the World Series. The first game of the World Series is on October 24th, giving Seager and the Dodgers organization just a bit more time to increase his chances of a return.

Charlie Culberson replaced Seager on the roster during the NLCS and has played tremendously well, going 2-6 with a run batted in and two runs scored. Chris Taylor took over at shortstop on the road at Wrigley Field and has been defensively sound at the position. Both of these players have done a great job thus far. However, it would be a nightmare for the Houston Astros or New York Yankees if the Dodgers are able to get a healthy Corey Seager back for the World Series.

Something to keep in mind is that away games in the World Series will call for a designated hitter. Maybe that could be a role for Seager to fill should his injured back not allow him to play a whole nine innings at shortstop? We will just have to wait and see how Corey Seager’s back reacts to performing baseball activities, but we will update you all as soon as more information is released.

The Boys in Blue have played well so far, but they’d certainly love to have one of their best players back on the roster for the World Series.

[button color=”red” size=”big” alignment=”center” rel=”follow” openin=”newwindow” url=””]Umpire Admits He Blew Call On Dodgers’ Curtis Granderson Foul Tip[/button]

Staff Writer

Staff Writer features content writed by our site editor along with our staff of contributing writers. Thank you for your readership.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles

Back to top button