Dodgers Team News

Dodgers News: Freddie Freeman Takes Home Roy Campanella Award

Every year since 2006, the Dodgers have presented the Roy Campanella Award to the player who “best exemplifies the spirit and leadership of the Hall of Fame catcher.” The award is voted on by the Los Angeles players and coaches.

This evening, the Dodgers announced the winner of this year’s award:

Freddie Freeman joins teammates Clayton Kershaw, Justin Turner, and Chris Taylor by winning the award. Kershaw won it in 2013 and 2014, Turner won it in 2017, 2019, and 2020, and Taylor won it in 2021. Besides Kershaw and Turner, Chase Utley is the only other player to win the award multiple times, in 2016 and 2018.

Freeman’s impact on the 2022 Dodgers goes far beyond the field, where he is putting up an MVP-caliber season, leading the league in hits, doubles, batting average, and on-base percentage. He has also been a mentor to younger players like Gavin Lux, and even veterans like Mookie Betts have seen his work ethic and applied aspects of his preparation to their own routines.

After spending the first 12 years of his big-league career with the Braves, Freeman came to L.A. as a free agent this past offseason after Atlanta opted to go with a younger option in Matt Olson at first base. Freeman immediately stepped in and assumed a quiet leadership role on a team with a lot of veteran leadership already, and he’s been rewarded with the most successful regular season of his major-league career.

Congrats to Freddie and his family on this prestigious award!

Have you subscribed to our YouTube Channel yet? Subscribe and hit that notification bell to stay up to date on all the latest Dodgers news, rumors, interviews, live streams, and more!

Jeff Snider

Jeff was born into a Dodgers family in Southern California and is now raising a Dodgers family of his own in Utah. During his previous career as an executive at a technology company, he began writing about baseball in his spare time. After leaving corporate America in 2014, he started doing it professionally. Jeff wrote and edited for Baseball Essential for years before joining Dodgers Nation. He's also the co-host of the Locked On Dodgers podcast, a daily podcast that brings the smart fan's perspective on our Boys in Blue. Jeff has a degree in English from Brigham Young University. Favorite Player: Clayton Kershaw Favorite Moment: Kirk Gibson's homer will always have a place, but Kershaw's homer on Opening Day 2013 might be the winner.

One Comment

  1. Congrats to #5 on being named for this award carrying Campy’s name, one if the all-time Dodger greats.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles

Back to top button