MLB News: New Format For 2014 Home Run Derby Revealed

[new_royalslider id=”195″] The 2014 MLB All-Star game returns to Minneapolis for the third time in its history and this summer’s mid-summer classic also marks the 20-year anniversary for the Home Run Derby’s debut, which came in Minnesota.

While the All-Star festivities are returning to Minnesota, MLB has announced a new format for this year’s rendition of the Gillette Home Run Derby.

Respective captains Jose Bautista of the Toronto Blue Jays and Troy Tulowitzki of the Colorado Rockies will select four additional players to participate, however batters will now be limited to seven outs in the first round, not the customary 10.

The player that hits the most home runs from each league will automatically advance to the third round and receive a bye. The second and third place participants from both leagues will advance and face each other in the second round.

Round three, the semi-finals, will consist of the winner of the No. 2 vs. No. 3 matchups from each league pitted against the respective winners of the first round. The winners from round three will then advance to the fourth round, with the order in the finals determined by a coin flip.

In the event of a tie in any of the rounds, players will be given three swings to hit as many home runs as possible. If a tie is still in effect, each will receive one swing to hit a home run. The one-swing battle will be repeated if necessary in order to break the tie.

A total of 59 home runs have been hit at Target Field through 36 games, an average of 1.64 per game. The Home Run Derby will be held July 14 and be broadcast on ESPN.
______________________________________________________________________________________________________<Yasiel Puig’s Top Five Plays

Please enable Javascript to watch this video

Staff Writer

Staff Writer features content written by our site editors along with our staff of contributing writers. Thank you for your readership.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button