Dodgers News: Adrian Gonzalez Named Finalist For Hank Aaron Award

Gary A. Vasquez-USA TODAY Sports
Gary A. Vasquez-USA TODAY Sports

The Los Angeles Dodgers announced on Monday that first baseman Adrian Gonzalez has been selected as their finalist for the 2015 Hank Aaron Award. The award is given annually to the top hitters in each league and is voted upon by both fans and media members.

Each team selects the best hitter from its squad to be represented and is then put up on MLB.com where fans may vote. For the sixth straight year, a panel of Hall of Fame players led by Hank Aaron will join fans in voting for the award.

The nomination marks the second consecutive season that Gonzalez was selected as Los Angeles’ Hank Aaron Award finalist. In 156 games, the All-Star first baseman put together a line of .275/.350/.480 while leading the Dodgers and ranking among the National League leaders in doubles (33), home runs (28) and RBIs (90).

The nominees for the 2015 award feature 16 All-Stars including young superstars Bryce Harper, Mike Trout, Nolan Arenado and Anthony Rizzo. Other slugging finalists include David Ortiz, Nelson Cruz, Paul Goldschmidt, Buster Posey, Josh Donaldson and Andrew McCutchen.

Some of the past winners of the award include: Giancarlo Stanton and Trout (2014); Miguel Cabrera and Goldschmidt (2013); Cabrera and Posey (2012); Jose Bautista and Matt Kemp (2011); Bautista and Joey Votto (2010).

Voting will be open until October 11, and fans will have the opportunity to select one American League and one National League winner from a list containing one finalist per club. The winners of the 2015 Hank Aaron Award will be announced during the 2015 World Series.


Staff Writer

Staff Writer features content written by our site editors along with our staff of contributing writers. Thank you for your readership.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button