Dodgers Team News

This Day in History: Dodgers Announce Move to Los Angeles From Brooklyn

On Oct. 8, 1957, Walter O’Malley announced the Brooklyn Dodgers were becoming the Los Angeles Dodgers. 59 years later the Dodgers are still a consistent contender in the National League. O’Malley would go onto be named to the National Baseball Hall of Fame in 2008.

What made the move easy for O’Malley was the city of Los Angeles agreed to build the team a new stadium, something that Brooklyn wouldn’t agree to do. The Dodgers played their first four seasons at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum before opening Dodger Stadium on Apr. 10, 1962.

[graphiq id=”2aZhL9wO8XH” title=”History of the Brooklyn Dodgers” width=”500″ height=”552″ url=”” link=”” link_text=”Visualization by Graphiq” ]

However, the Dodgers weren’t the only team relocating. The New York Giants were relocating as well, but this time to San Francisco. The move for both teams were to keep hold of the rivalry that was started in New York.

According to, National League owners voted unanimously in favor of the move for both teams on May 28, 1957. The only catch was both teams had to migrate, so if one team reconsidered changing states the other had to hold off on its plans. Dodgers Rumors are that the move was made in order to expand the sport of baseball all over the country instead of just on the East Coast.

[button color=”red” size=”big” alignment=”center” rel=”follow” openin=”newwindow” url=””]Dodgers News: Times Released for Remainder of NLDS[/button]

The Dodgers were in Brooklyn for 68 seasons compiling a record of 2,339-1,958 with seven playoff appearances, winning seven pennants and one World Championship.

In historical Dodger News, while in Brooklyn the Dodgers weren’t always the Dodgers. The team played under several different names such as:

  • Brooklyn Robins (1914-1931)
  • Brooklyn Superbas (1899-1910, 1913)
  • Brooklyn Bridegrooms (1888-1890, 1896-1898)
  • Brooklyn Grooms (1891-1895)
  • Brooklyn Grays (1885-1887)
  • Brooklyn Atlantics (1884)

Despite the many different name changes the Dodgers wouldn’t win a World Championship until 1955, according to The team had lost the chance on eight World Championships before capturing that elusive first one. Prior to the move the team was on a tear winning five pennants and the one world title all in eight years.

The move proved to be a smart one. Since 1957, the Dodgers have made the playoffs 21 times, winning nine pennants and five World Championships. The team is currently on a quest to bring a sixth World Series trophy to Los Angeles and their first since 1988.

Dodgers Nation TV:

Terrel Emerson

Terrel "Chatterbox" Emerson is a Inglewood native with strong Los Angeles roots. A big sports fan/analyst. Radio talk show host of "Talk That Talk," on WPMD. #WeLoveLA

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles

Back to top button