Dodgers Team News

Dodgers News: Several Former Dodgers On 2014 Hall Of Fame Ballot

Eric GagneThis morning, the BBWAA announced the Hall of Fame ballot for 2014 and several former Dodgers were first-time additions. In last year’s class, nobody was inducted into Cooperstown as Craig Biggio received the highest percentage votes at 68.2%.

With stars such as Greg Maddux, Tom Glavine and Frank Thomas being added to the ballot, there’s hope that multiple players will be induced this year. For Dodger fans, thhe Dodgers official Twitter account tweeted out the six Dodgers on the ballot for the first time:

In addition to these six, Esteban Loaiza and Jose Cruz Jr. are also former Dodgers on the ballot, but the above group made a greater impact during their time in Dodger Blue. Maddux is a sure-fire Hall of Famer either in 2014 or 2015 while there’s an argument to be made for Kent to be enshrined as well.

The collection of Nomo, Gagne and Lo Duca were all fan favorites during their time with the Dodgers as all three had incredible success. Nomo won NL Rookie of the Year in 1995 while Gagne won the NL Cy Young award in 2003. Lo Duca was a two-time All-Star and provided solid defense behind the plate.

Results for the ballot will be announced on January 8 as voters are only allowed to have 10 players on their individual ballot. This is Mattingly’s second-to-last opportunity to be voted in, as players only get 15 years of eligibility. McGwire got 16.7% last year as 2014 will be his eighth year on the ballot.

The Hall of Fame induction ceremony is held in July in Cooperstown, New York.


ICYMI: The Dodgers signed free agent pitcher Dan Haren to a one-year deal.