Adrian Gonzalez, Juan Uribe Win Wilson Defensive Awards

[new_royalslider id=”3″]

Despite falling short in the playoffs, the Los Angeles Dodgers enjoyed another successful season winning the NL West for the second consecutive year.

The Dodgers have seen their efforts rewarded as multiple players have won various awards. Heading into Wednesday, Adrian Gonzalez and Zack Greinke were the latest to earn hardware as they both won Gold Gloves.

Gonzalez added to his collection Wednesday as he was named the Wilson Defensive Player of the Year at first base. Also taking top honors for his position was Juan Uribe, who fell short on winning a Gold Glove Tuesday for the second straight year.

Major League Baseball began giving out Wilson Defensive awards in 2012 and named a player on each team as the team’s top defensive player. Uribe also won the award last year and so too did Matt Kemp. In addition, an overall League winner is named for both the National and American Leagues.

Michael Borne took the National League’s in 2012 while Gerardo Parra claimed it in 2013. For the American League, Mike Trout and Dustin Pedroia were named the winners.

A format change was introduced for the 2014 season to mirror the manner in which Gold Gloves are handed out. Instead of separating the two leagues, an overall winner was named per position.

The other winners include Cincinnati Reds pitcher Johnny Cueto, Pittsburgh Pirates catcher Russell Martin, Detroit Tigers second baseman Ian Kinsler, Atlanta Braves shortstop Andrelton Simmons, Kansas City Royals left fielder Alex Gordon, Royals center fielder Lorenzo Cain and Braves right fielder Jason Heyward.

Staff Writer

Staff Writer features content written by our site editors along with our staff of contributing writers. Thank you for your readership.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button