Dodgers Team News

Dodgers News: Clayton Kershaw Wins 2013 Roy Campanella Award

Clayton Kershaw is usually one of the most animated players during Dodger walk-off victories and now it’s paid off. Today, he was announced as the recipient of the 2013 Roy Campanella Award for being the “Most Inspirational Dodger”.

The award, which is given to the Dodger that best exemplifies the spirit and leadership of the late Dodgers Hall of Fame catcher, first was awarded in 2006. Kershaw is the eighth winner of the award and is the first pitcher to win the award and his battery mate A.J. Ellis took home the award last year.

The Dodgers official Twitter account tweeted the news making the announcement today:

Kershaw will be presented with the award by Campanella’s daughter, Joni Campanella Roan, prior to Saturday night’s game against the Rockies.

The Dodgers left-hander joins past winners Rafael Furcal (2006), Russell Martin (2007), James Loney (2008), Juan Pierre (2009), Jamey Carroll (2010), Matt Kemp (2011) and A.J. Ellis (2012).

Not only does Kershaw lead the Dodgers in inspiration but also has had another dominant season on the mound. He is 15-9 with a 1.88 ERA and 224 strikeouts. He is expected to be the frontrunner for the National League Cy Young Award and has even been mentioned as an MVP candidate.

Kershaw is known for being a great humanitarian and has his own organization, Kershaw’s Challenge. He won the 2013 Branch Rickey Award for exceptional community service and the 2012 Roberto Clemente Award, which is given to the MLB player that best exemplifies the game of baseball, sportsmanship, community involvement and the individual’s contribution to his team.

When the playoffs begin next week, Kershaw will start Game 1 as he looks to lead the Dodgers to their first World Series title since 1988.


In case you missed it, here’s the Dodgers pool celebration, PLUS Yasiel Puig’s celebration dance off!

Staff Writer

Staff Writer features content written by our site editors along with our staff of contributing writers. Thank you for your readership.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button