Dodgers Team News

Dodgers’ Yasiel Puig And Corey Seager Finalists For Rawlings Gold Glove Award

The Los Angeles Dodgers are in the World Series for the first time in 29 years, and it wasn’t just hitting and pitching that got them there. Los Angeles’ defense was stellar this year. They finished 19th in all of Major League Baseball with 88 errors, compared to the Oakland Atheltics’ (1st) 121 errors. They also finished 11th in putouts with 4334 out of 5789.

Yasiel Puig and Corey Seager were honored on Thursday by being named finalists for the Rawlings Gold Glove Award. They are the only players representing the Dodgers this year. The last Dodgers outfielder to win the award was Matt Kemp and Andre Ethier back in 2011. The last Dodgers shortstop to take home the award was César Izturis back in 2004.

Puig has some stiff competition, going up against Cubs’ Jason Heyward and Marlins’ Giancarlo Stanton. Corey Seager is going up against Giant’s Brandon Crawford and Phillies’ Freddy Galvis. Crawford has taken home the award for the past two years in a row.

In honor of Yasiel Puig and Corey Seager, let’s take a look at some of their best defensive moments from the 2017 season!

Yasiel Puig:

Corey Seager:

Unfortunately, Justin Turner and Cody Bellinger were not named finalists for the Rawlings Gold Glove Award. Hopefully, that changes in the years to come. The winners will be announced on November 7th on ESPN at 6:00 p.m. PT, so be sure to tune in!

Astros’ Dallas Keuchel Calls Out Dodgers’ Charlie Culberson And Juiced Balls

Alex Perez

Whittier College Alumnus. Editor In Chief of Dodgers Nation. Lifelong Dodgers fan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button